The Security Institute is awarded the 2013 Building the Future Award

Di Thomas, Emma Shaw and Mike Bluestone
Di Thomas, Emma Shaw and Mike Bluestone

The Building the Future award’s recipients for 2013 was announced today at the British Security Industry Association (BSIA) annual lunch at the Hilton Hotel in Park Lane. The winner was The Security Institute. The award was presented by Interconnective Ltd’s MD Bobby Logue and Brian Sims, Media Solutions Manager for the UBM Live’s Security & Fire Portfolio.

In his citation Bobby Logue told the BSIA lunch audience; “My researcher presented me with 21 reasons as to why this year’s recipient deserves the award. Some of these reasons are:

  • Developing and managing the ground breaking Register of Chartered Security Professionals, in partnership with the Worshipful Company of Security Professionals
  • The provision of accredited and award winning Certificate and Diploma courses in security management at levels 3 and 5 respectively
  • Creating and presenting its own annual awards such as the Wilf Knight and George Van Schalkwyk awards for academic excellence
  • Publishing a series of ‘Good Practice Guides’ for security practitioners
Bobby Logue, Emma Shaw and Brian Sims
Bobby Logue, Emma Shaw and Brian Sims

The Security Institute was established in 1999 with a membership now exceeding 1200 security professionals, and a dedicated Head Office team supported by scores of keen member volunteers. The Security Institute has professionalised our industry. They are indeed worthy winners of this year’s Building the Future Award.

Earlier Brian Sims introduced the award; “In 2003, Interconnective Ltd sponsored the ‘Building the Future’ award. This award is bestowed upon the individual or organisation that has used the last 12 months and more to create a significant footprint. A footprint on the road towards a vibrant, wholly professional and mutually profitable security services sector. This accolade is always presented jointly by Bobby Logue and myself. Previous winners of this coveted award have included;David Dickinson, Ian Nisbet (G4S), Bill Muskin (VSG), Skills for Security, David Beaton (G4S), David Evans of the BSIA and Baroness Ruth Henig CBE Chairman of the Security Industry Authority.

“In 2010, a posthumous award was made to Jǿrgen Philip-Sǿrensen CBE MA (JPS) – the founding father of the security world. Last year, of course, DAC Janet Williams QPM of the Metropolitan Police Service deservedly won the trophy. Janet’s tremendous work in helping to realize a more effective communications and working relationship between the police service and the private security sector were duly noted and honored.” Concluded Brian Sims.