BSIA Celebrate Security Excellence Across the Industry at Annual Awards in London

The British Security Industry Association’s (BSIA) flagship event, the British Security Awards, recently returned to the live stage. The event aimed to recognize security officers and businesses for their efforts in professionally protecting people, property, and places over the past 18 months.

Now in its 27th year, the British Security Awards were held in 2024 at the Royal Lancaster London, celebrating security excellence. Nineteen awards were presented to security officers and businesses in front of clients and leading industry stakeholders. The event also featured the Chairman’s Award, the SaferCash Awards, and the Police Partnership Initiative Award.

The awards were presented by the Association’s recently elected Chairman, Martin Watson. The SaferCash awards were presented by Deputy Chief Constable of Northumbria Police, Jayne Meir.

The 2024 winners are:

Service to the Customer: Gill Yardley – MAN Commercial Protection

Best Team: Westgrove Group – Templars Square Security Team

Outstanding Act: Martyn Ward – Bidvest Noonan

Security Manager of the Year: Tom Meredith – Mitie

Gaby Hutchinson Award (Best Newcomer): Caitlyn Turner – Lodge Service

3Ps recognition: Enadeghe Nosakhare – STM Group

Apprentice of the Year: Terry McJimpsey – SecuriGroup

Management Excellence: Beth Davies- Galliford Try Asset Intelligence

Excellence in Leadership: Iain McCallister – MAN Commercial Protection

Mental Wellbeing Initiative: Mind Over Mountains – Westgrove Group

EDI Champion: The Million, Securing a Socially Responsible Future – G4S

Environmental Project of the Year: SecuriGroup Forest – SecuriGroup

SME of the Year: Fenix Monitoring

Business of the Year: Mitie

Best Use of Technology: Global Security Operations Centre – Dyson Technology

Innovative Security Project: Person on Track Detection – Commend UK

Installer of the Year: WH Malcolm installation – SecuriGroup

National Partnership: Water Industry Partnership – Galliford Try Asset Intelligence

Contribution to the Industry: Shaun Kennedy – Securitas UK

Industry Bravery: Jim Goodram – Post Office

Police Partnership Initiative: West Midlands Police Major Crime Proactive Team

Chairman’s Award: Ken Meanwell, NPCC

Mike Reddington, Chief Executive, BSIA, commented: “It was an honour and a privilege to be able to recognise our winners and finalists for their professionalism, innovation and commitment to our industry at the British Security Awards. The scale of achievement we see every year from across each sector is remarkable, and our awards enable us to recognise the outstanding work being carried out by members of both the Association and the wider industry in keeping people, property and places professionally protected on a daily basis.”

 “As always, the standard of nominations has been exceptional this year, and the judging panel, made up of independent experts from across the industry have had a very difficult job selecting the winners. It is therefore a fantastic achievement by all the finalists.”

The British Security Awards 2024 were sponsored by Darwin Clayton, Nineteen Group, Titan, SaferCash, TEAM Software, NSI, Securitas UK, Texecom, Fenix Monitoring, OCS Group, Galliford Try Asset Intelligence, SGS, Commend UK, STM Group, MAN Commercial Protection, Mates in Mind and Eagle Eye Networks