OSPAs Announces First Ever Global Competition to be Held in 2025

ospaslogoWorld Excellence Awards has announced today that the inaugural Global Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs) will be held in 2025. This means that winners in each category from different countries will be eligible to participate in the global awards. The OSPAs, which began in 2015 with events in Norway, Australia, and Germany, have expanded to include several other countries such as Benelux, Canada, France, India and South Asia, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Romania, South Africa, Southeast Asia, and the USA.

The OSPAs distinguish themselves by their commitment to ethical standards and their values of independence, credibility, transparency, and respectability. The organization does not select the judges; instead, they are nominated by supporting associations and interest groups. These judges assess entries according to an ethics policy and independently evaluate them based on published criteria. This approach is followed consistently across all participating countries.

The OSPAs offer a fair competition platform for all participants and are widely regarded as one of the most prestigious awards in the global security sector. Professor Martin Gill, the founder of OSPAs, expressed his vision for the Global OSPAs, stating that the categories, judging criteria, and selection process remain the same across all countries. He is quoted as saying, ‘When we started the OSPAs we always envisaged and were working towards the Global OSPAs, that is why the categories are the same, the judging criteria is the same, and the judges are selected in the same way in all countries.

‘Ten years on we are ready to recognise the outstanding performers in security globally. We are excited by the prospect that everyone who enters the OSPAs in 2024 has the chance of not only winning in their country but in the world.’


The categories included in the Global OSPAs cover a wide range of security-related aspects, such as:


Outstanding In-House Security Manager/Director

Outstanding Contract Security Manager/Director

Outstanding Security Team

Outstanding Security Company (Guarding)

Outstanding Security Consultant

Outstanding Security Training Initiative

Outstanding Security Installer/Integrator

Outstanding New Security Product

Outstanding Security Partnership

Outstanding Security Officer

Outstanding Female Security Professional

Outstanding Young Security Professional

Outstanding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative

Outstanding Security Sustainability Award


The first Global OSPA event will take place virtually at the beginning of 2025, and further information will be provided on the Global OSPAs website in due course.