Security Commonwealth Appoint New Members to Board

Claire Humble, talking about her appointment, said she joined the SyCom Board to shake things up, make positive changes, and support new ways of working in the security sector and the broader community.

Nicholas Reed , who will be assisting Dave Cooke CPP with Secretariat duties, expressed his excitement, saying, “I am privileged and honoured to have been both accepted onto the Board of the UK Security Commonwealth and also to take up a role supporting the Secretariat of the organisation. My intention is to support SyCom in fulfilling its mandate as the uniting, umbrella body bringing together the common interests of the numerous associations in the UK security sector and acting as a conduit for inter-organisational communication and coordination in promoting the member body interests and propagating industry supportive initiatives – together we can achieve so much more.”

Darren Carter, who has been involved with the Security Commonwealth since its formation in 2015, commented, “it is a privilege to have recently joined the Board and I do so with the full intent of helping to drive the ambitions of all those who readily commit their time and energy into the organisation.  Bringing together the many organisations who lead our industry, under a unified working group is by no means any easy task.  That said, strength is found with common understanding and shared values, I’m grateful for the opportunity and very much look forward to making a positive contribution to the team.”

Jayne King FSyI, ASMS, the Chair of the Security Commonwealth, warmly welcomed Darren, Nic, and Claire to the Board, believing that their drive and enthusiasm will guide Sycom in the months and years ahead. They will be joining existing Board members Jayne King, Joe Connell MBE, Guy Mathias, Graham Bassett, Dave Cooke, Oliver Curran, and Mike Hurst.

Jayne also announced that this year’s David Clark Award for Exceptional Contribution to the UK Security Sector will be presented on November 1st at an event hosted by the International Foundation for Protection Officers UK (IFPO). Nominations are now open.